Tag Archives: British Press Awards

MediaGuardian: British Press Awards results

The Guardian has the full results from last night’s British Press Awards: the Telegraph took the big one, for newspaper of the year, while the Guardian’s Paul Lewis walked away with reporter of the year. Overall, the Telegraph won six prizes for its expenses story, including journalist of the year for its editor Will Lewis.

Heather Brooke got acknowledgement for her role in the expenses exposé, with a judge’s award. The Guardian reports:

The judges’s award went to freelance journalist and freedom of information campaigner Heather Brooke whose tireless campaigning did so much to keep the story in the public eye. She praised the Telegraph for doing a brilliant job but appealed to Fleet Street to be more co-operative on major stories.

“I don’t begrudge the Telegraph and I hope they don’t begrudge me. The fact is I’m fucking proud,” she said.

Full story at this link…

There’s a Guardian Twitter liveblog too, if you want to catch up with it as it happened.

Press Gazette: Wilmington in partnership deal for British Press Awards

Following its near closure earlier this year and subsequent acquisition by Progressive Media, there’s been little talk of what would happen to Press Gazette’s annual British Press Awards.

The awards remained with former owner Wilmington and questions were raised over how the prizes could continue without the industry mag to back them.

But according to a PG report, Wilmington will now donate a share of profits from the event to the Journalists’ Charity and run the awards in partnership with the Newspaper Publishers Association (NPA).

Full story at this link…

British Press Award winners 2009

Guardian.co.uk was named website of the year for the second year running at last night’s British Press Awards.

Both The Guardian and The Mail on Sunday were the biggest winners of the night, each winning four awards.

Perhaps the most coveted award, Newspaper of the Year, went to The Times, while Digital journalist of the year went to The Guardian’s, Dave Hill.

Miles Goslett from The Mail on Sunday won Scoop of the year for his story on the Jonathan Ross and Russell Brand ‘Sachsgate’ affair.

The full list of award winners is available at this link.

Newspaper Awards winners – Timesonline.co.uk named eNews Site of the Year

Timesonline.co.uk was named Electronic News Site of the Year at last night’s Newspaper Awards held at the London Hilton.

The Best Use of New Media prize went to local newspaper Hull Daily Mail’s site thisisyourmail.co.uk.

The Financial Times, fresh from wins at this months British Press Awards, won its third National Newspaper of the Year award of 2008 and the award for National Colour Supplement of the Year for the seventh year running.

The Guardian was highly commended in four out of its five nominated categories, but left without a win.

British Press Awards – the winners

Guardian.co.uk was named website of the year at last night’s British Press Awards, as the paper picked up three awards.

Guardian journalist Sean Smith was named digital reporter of the year and Ghaith Abdul-Ahad foreign reporter of the year.

The Financial Times also scooped three awards winning the newspaper of the year title and prizes for two of its journalists.

The Sun walked away with most prizes on the night with four: scoop of the year and reporter of the year for Tom Newton Dunn; and its ‘Help for Heroes campaign’ named campaign of the year and winning the Cudlipp award.

Press Gazette has the full list of award winners.