HoldtheFrontPage: Southern Daily Echo wins regional Newspaper of the Year award

Southampton paper the Southern Daily Echo took home the Daily Newspaper of the Year award from last night’s 2011 EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards, HoldtheFrontPage reports.

The Newsquest-owned Echo took home three awards, but Johnston Press daily the News, based in Portsmouth, took away the most prizes, scooping four on the night.

HoldtheFrontPage has the full list of winners named at the ceremony at Lord’s Cricket Ground, as listed below:

Newcomer of the Year: Nikki Jarvis, Croydon Advertiser

Environmental Journalist of the Year: Charlotte Wilkins, ITV Meridian

Business Journalist of the Year: Emma Judd, The News, Portsmouth

News Photographer of the Year: Terry Applin, The Argus

Sports Journalist of the Year: Jordan Cross, The News, Portsmouth

Feature Writer of the Year: Sarah Foster, The News, Portsmouth

Columnist of the Year: Louise Ford, Kent and Sussex Courier

Designer of the Year: Graeme Windell, The News, Portsmouth

Radio Journalist of the Year: Julia George, BBC Radio Kent

Television Journalist of the Year: Andrew Pate, ITV Meridian

Weekly Print Journalist of the Year: Gareth Davies, Croydon Advertiser

Daily Print Journalist of the Year: Jenny Makin, Southern Daily Echo

Website of the Year: Getreading.co.uk

Community Campaign of the Year: Southern Daily Echo – Have a Heart

Front Page of the Year: Faversham News – Murdered teenager discovered by side of road

Radio news or current affairs programme of the year: Breakfast Show, BBC Radio Kent

Television news or current affairs programme of the year: ITV Meridian – Turner Contemporary Opens.

Free Weekly Newspaper of the Year: The Wokingham Times

Paid for Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Kent and Sussex Courier

Daily Newspaper of the Year: Southern Daily Echo

Leave a Reply