Guardian Student Media Awards 2011: shortlist announced

The shortlist has been announced for this year’s Guardian Student Media Awards. The list of 45 individuals or publications, which were whittled from 648 entries by a panel of judges including Guardian editor-in-chief Alan Rusbridger and freedom of information campaigner and journalist Heather Brooke, will compete in nine categories. The awards will be presented on 23 November.

See the full list of nominees below:

Publication of the Year

York Vision, University of York

Mouth, Kingston University

Cherwell, Oxford University

River, Kingston University (won 2010)

Felix, Imperial College London

Website of the Year, University of Birmingham, University of Warwick, University of Southampton, University of Liverpool , Oxford University

Reporter of the Year

Simon Murphy, Newcastle University

Lizzie Porter, Oxford University

Tom Farmery, University of Lincoln

James Burton, University of Cambridge

Michael Smith, University of Sheffield

Feature Writer of the Year

Jamie Ross, St Andrews University

Alex Dymoke, Oxford University

Thomas Hocking, University of Sheffield

Minas Panayi, Cass Business School, University London

Camilla Apkar, University of York

Columnist of the Year

Rhiannon Williams, University College London

Charlotte Hogarth Jones, University of York

Mehreen Khan, Oxford University

Samuel Gilonis, University of Southampton

Helen Robb, St Annes College, Oxford

Critic of the Year

Rachel Aroesti, Durham University

Daniel Barrow, Warwick University

Alex Gruzenberg, Darwin College, Cambridge

Toby Parker Rees, Homerton College, Cambridge

Thomas Killingbeck, University of York

Photographer of the Year

Rajan Zaveri, SAE Institute London

Ibolya Feher, University of the West of England

James Marsh, University of Wolverhampton

Bernat Millet, Middlesex University

Rosangela Borgese, University of West London

Digital Journalist of the Year

Joseph Stashko, University of Central Lancashire

Helen Stead, University of Salford

Jake Lea-Wilson, Imperial College

Dylan Lowe, Imperial College

Nick Eardley, Edinburgh Napier

Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Claire Freeman, Nottingham Trent

Clare Davis and Michael Greenfield, City University

Munawar Shaikh, University of Leeds

Elaine Ly, Nottingham Trent

Joanna Beaufoy, Emmanuel Cambridge

Image by Michael Brunton-Spall on Flickr. Some rights reserved.

Leave a Reply