#jlist: Vote for your 50th member of the J-list


Yesterday Journalism.co.uk published our final list of 49 people that we consider to be innovators in their area of journalism or digital media. As with all lists, it’s incredibly subjective and open to debate – which is exactly what we wanted people to do.

We’ve had lots of suggestions for who else should be included. We’re listing them all below – remember, these are NOT Journalism.co.uk’s selections, they are from our readers.

Vote for your choice below – voting will close at 5:00pm on Tuesday 10 August.

See below the poll for descriptions of the candidates.

Mike Butcher – long-time journalist and blogger, taking industry titles online long before anyone else was publishing websites. Joined TechCrunch in 2007 and is now editor of TechCrunch, Europe.

Adam Westbrook – freelance multimedia journalist, nominated by Mike Butcher.

Deborah Bonello – now working for the Financial Times, Deborah Bonello founded the multimedia reporting project Mexicoreporter.com. Nominated by Mike Butcher.

Mike Magee – founder of the Register and technology news website the Inquirer. Nominated by @wegotblankets.

SOCHI project Ambitious, crowd-funded project from photographer Rob Hornstra and writer/filmmaker Arnold van Bruggen to document the changes in the area around Sochi, where the Winter Olympics will take place in 2014, over five years. Nominated by Ann Laenan.

Mike Rawlins/Pits ‘n’ Pots – part of the team behind hyperlocal news site for Stoke with an emphasis on local politics. Nominated by Sam Freeman.

Natasha Loseva – Curator of internet projects at Russian news agency Ria Novosti. Nominated by colleague Valery Levchenko, who says: “Her innovative multimedia ways made @rianru the best source on Russia with UGC.”

Brian Farnham – editor-in-chief of US hyperlocal website Patch. Nominated by colleague Benji Feldheim for Patch’s rapid growth in websites.

Richard Wilson (a.k.a. @dontgetfooled) – Nominated by Naomi McAuliffe for “for his sterling work on Trafigura and Carter-Ruck, dodgy MPs, the ignored problems in Burundi and freedom of expression and libel”.

Emily Bell – former digital director at Guardian News and Media, Emily Bell will now lead the Tow Centre for Digital Journalism at Columbia Journalism School. Nominated by @balihar.

Ilicco Elia – head of consumer mobile at Thomson Reuters, nominated by Sarah Booker. Pushing innovation in social media and mobile media for news organisations.

Niall Hunt – Digital content strategy manager for CMP Medica with a history of innovation, including time at EMAP investigating new approaches to web journalism. Nominated by colleague Chris Chapman, who said: “leading a web revolution here, with amazing track record in online journalism”.

Guy Clapperton – freelance journalist, broadcaster and author (has also worked as a trainer for Journalism.co.uk in the past) – an expert in online branding and marketing for freelancers.

OWNI.fr – collaboration of journalists, developers and designers creating new forms of online storytelling and news applications – and making a profit from its work. Team features Nicolas Voisin, founder and CEO, Adriano Farano and Nicolas Kayser-Bril.

Tomas Bella – Nominated by Nicolas Kayser-Bril: “He’s the only person I know of to have bought and integrated a digg-like for a news website (sme.sk) and he now offers solutions to the local online media, such as a Kachingle-like paywall plan.”

Dejan Restak Nominated by Nicolas Kayser-Bril: “He developed a last.fm-like for the news portal B92.net and now works with mobile news at WAN/IFRA.”

Chris Wheal – freelance journalist who is successfully making a living from online journalism working for a range of finance and insurance news titles. Leading online training and development for young journalists as part of the National Union of Journalists’ training arm.

Robert Andrews – editor of paidContent:UK, nominated by Patrick Smith: “He’s been doing analysis-driven live journalism with data/charts for years.”

13 thoughts on “#jlist: Vote for your 50th member of the J-list

  1. Chris Wheal

    I would have put some of these people on the list and removed some of those already on it, rather than have a vote on the final space available.

    Some on the initial list are very good at talking about web journalism and influential in researching new technologies, but don’t have a track record of actually doing it successfully.

    Some people are getting on with it and, therefore, have less time to endlessly blog and tweet about the theory behind it.

    Sometimes empty vessels make the most noise.

  2. Simon

    This is just a popularity contest / who has most friends on facebake, not necessarily the person who has contributed the most to social media.

  3. Jem stone

    “We’ve had lots of suggestions for who else should be included. We’re listing them all below ”

    Actually you missed out Rory Cellan Jones who was nominated by Darren Waters in your original blog post in the comments ie: twitter.com/ruskin147

    Shame he’s not in your list given his work at the BBC.

    Loads of brilliant journalists here and the list is incomplete and partial as these lists always are.

    I’d also have included http://twitter.com/billt/ for his sterling work as a digital broadcaster/journalist for the BBC/World Service and The Guardian over the last 20! years.

  4. Laura Oliver

    Apologies Jem – and to Rory – I did indeed miss that nomination by accident. Hopefully voters will make use of the ‘other’ box as well.

    And yes, as you mention in your comment and we mention in the posts lists are always very subjective – but hopefully this j-list and future versions will give a nod to lots of great journalists and digital media folk present and future.

  5. Jem stone

    Laura . No problem. Its just a (excellent) way of provoking discussion. 50 journalists though and *none* from the BBC. See you’ve got me at it again.

  6. Pingback: Announcing the 50th member of the the j-list… | Journalism.co.uk Editors' Blog

Leave a Reply