Browse > Home /

HoldtheFrontPage: Southern Daily Echo wins regional Newspaper of the Year award

October 28th, 2011 | No Comments | Posted by in Awards, Editors' pick

Southampton paper the Southern Daily Echo took home the Daily Newspaper of the Year award from last night’s 2011 EDF Energy London and South of England Media Awards, HoldtheFrontPage reports.

The Newsquest-owned Echo took home three awards, but Johnston Press daily the News, based in Portsmouth, took away the most prizes, scooping four on the night.

HoldtheFrontPage has the full list of winners named at the ceremony at Lord’s Cricket Ground, as listed below:

Newcomer of the Year: Nikki Jarvis, Croydon Advertiser

Environmental Journalist of the Year: Charlotte Wilkins, ITV Meridian

Business Journalist of the Year: Emma Judd, The News, Portsmouth

News Photographer of the Year: Terry Applin, The Argus

Sports Journalist of the Year: Jordan Cross, The News, Portsmouth

Feature Writer of the Year: Sarah Foster, The News, Portsmouth

Columnist of the Year: Louise Ford, Kent and Sussex Courier

Designer of the Year: Graeme Windell, The News, Portsmouth

Radio Journalist of the Year: Julia George, BBC Radio Kent

Television Journalist of the Year: Andrew Pate, ITV Meridian

Weekly Print Journalist of the Year: Gareth Davies, Croydon Advertiser

Daily Print Journalist of the Year: Jenny Makin, Southern Daily Echo

Website of the Year: Getreading.co.uk

Community Campaign of the Year: Southern Daily Echo – Have a Heart

Front Page of the Year: Faversham News – Murdered teenager discovered by side of road

Radio news or current affairs programme of the year: Breakfast Show, BBC Radio Kent

Television news or current affairs programme of the year: ITV Meridian – Turner Contemporary Opens.

Free Weekly Newspaper of the Year: The Wokingham Times

Paid for Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Kent and Sussex Courier

Daily Newspaper of the Year: Southern Daily Echo

Tags: , , ,

Similar posts:

NUJ: Southern Daily Echo chapel to ballot for strikes over pay freeze

December 16th, 2010 | No Comments | Posted by in Editors' pick, Journalism, Newspapers

Members of the National Union of Journalists at the Southern Daily Echo are being balloted again by the union for more strike action, in an ongoing dispute over a pay freeze at Newsquest.

Around 75 per cent of editorial staff have already taken part in two 48 hour strikes at the title in Southampton. Yesterday Journalism.co.uk reported that members felt a decision by the paper to give extra pay to staff who did not take part in the strike action would provoke further action.

Tags: , , , ,

Similar posts:

#FollowJourn: @dankerins/web journalist

September 14th, 2009 | No Comments | Posted by in Recommended journalists

#FollowJourn: Dan Kerins

Who? Web journalist, Southern Daily Echo

What? Prior to joining the Southern Daily Echo, Dan worked as a reporter for the Portsmouth News

Where? @dankerins and @dailyecho

Contact? dan.kerins [at] dailyecho.co.uk

Just as we like to supply you with fresh and innovative tips every day, we’re recommending journalists to follow online too. They might be from any sector of the industry: please send suggestions (you can nominate yourself) to judith or laura [at] journalism.co.uk; or to @journalismnews.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Similar posts:

Digital editors on Twitter – a list for networking and problem-solving

Since I started using Twitter I’ve always been amazed (and grateful) at how quickly calls for technological help and assistance with ideas and projects are answered. It’s one of the main reasons I’m a fan of Twitter.

There are plenty of media/journalist Twitter databases out there, but below are the beginnings of a list of digital editors on Twitter.

What do I mean by digital editor? In this instance, a journalist working primarily online, on web projects or co-ordinating multimedia output. The web editor of a newspaper site or magazine site, for example. It’s in no particular order, except for being divided by ‘traditional’ industry sectors at the moment, but if this isn’t useful, just let us know – would be great to get more international representatives too.

But the criteria for inclusion on the list are intentionally loose – this is aimed at networking, problem-solving and idea sharing between journalists working in the same space and similar roles. (Feel free to nominate any additions or drop us a tweet @journalismnews)

UPDATE April 16please read blog post two on how to message the group via Twitter

Newspapers

Alison Gow (@alisongow) – executive editor, digital, Liverpool Daily Post & Liverpool Echo

Kevin Matthews (@kmatt) – head of web and data, Liverpool Daily Post

Neil MacDonald (@xxnapoleonsolo) – deputy head of web and data, Liverpool Daily Post

Jo Wadsworth (@jowadsworth) – web editor, Brighton Argus

Tom Pegg (@tomatthechad) – digital content manager, Mansfield Chad

James Goffin (@jamesgoffin) – regional web producer, Archant

Sarah Booker (@sarah_booker) – web editor, Worthing Herald

Gustav Svensson (@gustavsvensson) – web editor, entertainment and arts, Sydsvenskan.se

Stephen Emerson (@stephen_emerson) – deputy online editor, Scotsman.com

Sam Shepherd (@SamShepherd) – online journalist, Bournemouth Daily Echo

Joanna Geary (@timesjoanna) – web development editor, business, Times Online

Sarah Hartley (@foodiesarah) – head of online editorial, MEN Media

Iain Hepburn (@iainmhepburn) – online editor, DailyRecord.co.uk

Lucia Adams (@luciatimes) – web development editor, Times Online

Carmen Boles (@carmenb) – online news editor, Gazette.com

Marcus Warren (@MarcusWa) – editor, Telegraph.co.uk

Dan Owen (@danowen) – executive editor online, Trinity Mirror

Steve Nicholls (@steve_nicholls) – multimedia editor, Birmingham Post

Anna Jeys (@ajeys) – multimedia editor, Birmingham Mail

Steve Wollaston (@stevewollaston) – multimedia editor, BPM Media and Sunday Mercury

Julie Martin (@jules_27) – Teesside Evening Gazette

Helen Dalby (@helendalby) – regional multimedia manager, NCJ Media

Nick Turner (@nickincumbria) – head of digital content, CN Group

Christian Dunn (@christiandunn) – digital news editor, NWN Media

Hugh Dixon (@hugh_d) – web editor and production editor, thisisbath/Bath Chronicle

Paul Cockerton (@paulcockerton) – web editor, Lancashire Telegraph

Dan Owens (@hornetdan1979) – deputy news editor, Northampton Chronicle and Echo

Dan Kerins (@dankerins) – web journalist, Southern Daily Echo

Broadcast

Marsha Graham (@marshagoldcoast) – multimedia manager for 102.9FM Hot Tomato, Australia

Rob Winder (@robwinder) – news editor, Al Jazeera website, Washington DC

Tom Thorogood (@TomThorogood) – digital news editor, MTV

Magazines

Martin Stabe (@martinstabe) – online editor, Retail Week

Victoria Thompson (@VicThompson) – assistant online editor, Nursing Times

Neil Durham (@NeilDurham) – deputy editor, GP and Independent Nurse

John Robinson (@PulseToday) – digital content manager, Pulse Today

Peter Houston (@p_houston) – editorial director for Advanstar Communications, Europe

Alex Smith (@alexsmith68) – web editor, Building.co.uk

Keira Daley (@daleyrant) – web editor, Australian print magazine

Lara McNamee (@lovelylara33) – assistant intelligence editor, ICIS

Gabriel Fleming (@gabefleming) – online editor, Nursing Times

Janie Stamford (@janiestamford) – contract catering editor, Caterer & Hotelkeeper

Robin Latchem (@lgcplus) – online editor, Local Government Chronicle

Keely Stocker (@keelystocker) – digital content manager, Drapers Online

Scott Matthewman (@scottm) – assistant manager, The Stage

Specialist website

Michael Hubbard (@michaelomh) – founder and music editor, MusicOmh

Krystal Sim (@krystalsim) – web editor for sustainability magazine BSD – bsdlive.co.uk

Arun Marsh (@ArunMarsh) – content producer/editor, Local Gov

Rick Waghorn (@MrRickWaghorn) – publisher, MyFootbalWriter

Emma Waddingham (@emmawad) online editor, Legal-Medical.co.uk

Michael McCarthy (@HealthGuide) online editor, LocalHealthGuide

Steve Gooding (@rmtimestech)- Romney Marsh Times

Manoj Solanki (@ManojSolanki) – SeekBroadband.com

Graham Holliday (@noodlepie) – digital editor, Frontline Club

Craig McGinty (@craigmcginty) – publisher, ThisFrenchLife

Mark Crail (@markcrail) – managing editor, XpertHR

Freelance

Adam Oxford (@adamoxford)

Rachel Colling (@rachcolling)

Ashanti Omkar (@ashantiomkar)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Similar posts:

© Mousetrap Media Ltd. Theme: modified version of Statement